Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

newbie .. help opening camera? hidden button?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Graflex.org Forum Index -> Speed Graphic Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ciela

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:02 am    Post subject: newbie .. help opening camera? hidden button? Reply with quote

hi. i am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to large format. please excuse my ignorance!

i got my very first large format camera today, graflex speed graphic. i have heard there is a 'hidden' button to make the front open. can someone please walk me through this process. i can't find the 'button'. how *exactly* do i do this? i feel like i am doing something wrong (which wouldn't surprise me)

thank you in advance
~C
bruiser

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome!
Have a look for a raised 'bubble' on top of the camera at the center front (on later models near the top mount of the side strap), push down on the 'bubble' and pull forwards on the knurled focusing knob on the front door. Pull the front down until it locks. You can then slide the front standard out.
Cheers, Bruce
ciela

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is a very small bubble but i push and pull at the same time and nothing happens.

hoping the picture works.

i restore old cameras but so far i have only done small and medium format. this is my first foray into large format and i feel like a child.
so... i pushed and pulled... now what?? is it broken? am i broken? still not sure if i am doing the right things...
Les

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote