Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drop bed on crown graphic.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Graflex.org Forum Index -> Speed Graphic Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
campy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am new to large format and am interested in how to increase depth of field
by using drop bed. After dropping bed do I tilt lens back and forth to find my focus point? Do I focus at the closest spot or the furthest away? How much of an increase should I expect? Also when the bed is down the short focus rail comes out of it's groove and seems to lock up. Is there a certain sequence I should do?
Discpad

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start here at http://www.largeformatphotography.info/articles/bond-checklist.html
and continue here
http://www.trenholm.org/hmmerk/

Quote:

On 2003-02-15 10:34, campy wrote:
I am new to large format and am interested in how to increase depth of field
by using drop bed. After dropping bed do I tilt lens back and forth to find my focus point? Do I focus at the closest spot or the furthest away? How much of an increase should I expect? Also when the bed is down the short focus rail comes out of it's groove and seems to lock up. Is there a certain sequence I should do?

[ This Message was edited by: Discpad on 2003-02-15 12:03 ]
Discpad

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, click here for "View Camera Focus and Depth of Field — Part I by Harold M. Merklinger"
[http://users.snip.net/~joe/Focus_tilt_&_swing-VCFaDOF1.pdf]
FrankS

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Campy,